top of page

Can you learn English from a snack?

I bought a treat for myself yesterday - something I haven't eaten for a while. It's called a 'yum yum' and it's a cross between a croissant and a donut.

English is everywhere if you look closely.

While eating, I started reading what was written on the side of the box.

'If you've just finished these sweet treats, it means two things.

1. You're in a good mood.

2. You have a box to dispose of.

And we're hoping that because of (1), you might be persuaded to do (2) in a responsible way.

Please recycle what you can - and if you can't, please pop it in the bin. Thanks.'


I thought to myself that there's a lot of English here to learn here. So here's my challenge for you:

  1. Can you find any new words or phrases in the description? What do they mean?

  2. Can you find different types of grammar? Conditionals? Present Perfect? Passive? A verb + preposition? A verb + infinitive?

English is everywhere. When you see anything in English, read it and see what you know. Even if it's very short, there is always something to learn!


Happy learning!

Recent Posts

See All

Check out my Blog!

It's full of tips on learning English!

Don't Miss a New Blog Post!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page