top of page

That's a promise!

Promise (v, n): to tell someone that you will certainly do something


"I will always love you! I'll never leave you!"

Have you heard that before? It's easy to make a promise!


We use 'will + infinitive' for many different reasons. You use it quite often to talk about the future but we also use it when we want to promise to do something.


My son: "I will finish all my homework and I won't play xbox tonight."

The waitress: "I'll bring you the drinks after I take your order. It won't be long."

 

Listen to this song. The singer makes 4 promises using will / won't. Can you hear what they are?


Difficult: no lyrics

Easy: listen with words


Now when you listen to other songs, see if you can hear any promises using 'will'.



Answers: I'll stand by you. (I) won't let nobody hurt you. I'll never desert you. You won't be on your own.


 

Want to learn more about the different uses of 'will' and other future tenses?

Click on the logo to find out more about the Grammar and Speaking modules - Future Tenses.


Recent Posts

See All

Check out my Blog!

It's full of tips on learning English!

Don't Miss a New Blog Post!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page